Pin it!
Google Plus

2014 NCTM Research Conference

 2014 Research Conference Banner 

 2014 Research Conference CCC Bridge 270Crescent City Bridge and New Orleans Skyline 

April 7–9, 2014 • New Orleans

Linking Research and Practice

Registration for this event is closed.
Save the date for the 2015 NCTM Research Conference April 13–15 in Boston. 

Join your fellow researchers at the 2014 NCTM Research Conference in New Orleans.

 You’ll find many rich opportunities:

  • Examine and discuss current issues in mathematics education.
  • Receive feedback on your work and benefit from exposure to alternative points of view.
  • Capitalize on the collective wisdom of researchers and practitioners coming together to discuss mathematics education and research.
  • Interact and network with beginning scholars and veteran researchers in the field.

Learn more about the NCTM Research Conference 

Information about Paper Guidelines  

Programs & Presentations   

Schedule Overview 

Hotel & Travel 

Program Book 

Registration Rates 

Online Conference Planner  

Explore New Orleans 

Research Conference App  Available NOW! 


Featured Presentations  

Research Conference Opening Session 
Monday, April 7, 7:00 p.m.–8:15 p.m.  
Arthur Levine  ARTHUR LEVINE

President, Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation 

Arthur Levine is the sixth president of the Woodrow Wilson Foundation. Before his appointment at Woodrow Wilson, he was president and professor of education at Teachers College, Columbia University. He also previously served as chair of the higher education program, chair of the Institute for Educational Management, and senior lecturer at the Harvard Graduate School of Education.

Dr. Levine is the author of dozens of articles and reviews, including a series of reports for the Education Schools Project on the preparation of school leaders, teachers, and education researchers. Dr. Levine’s numerous commentaries appear in such publications as The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, Education Week, and The Chronicle of Higher Education.

His most recent book is Generation on a Tightrope: A Portrait of Today’s College Student (with Diane Dean, 2012).

Research Conference Plenary Session
Wednesday, April 9, 10:15 a.m.–11:15 a.m. 
Uri Treisman 

Professor Mathematics and Public Affairs, University of Texas at Austin, and Executive Director of the Charles A. Dana Center  

Philip Uri Treisman is a mathematician and mathematics educator who has received numerous honors and awards for his efforts to improve American education. The 1987 recipient of the Charles Dana Award for Pioneering Achievement in American Higher Education, he was named a MacArthur Fellow in 1992, and  “Scientist of the Year" for his outstanding contributions to mathematics by the Harvard Foundation of Harvard University in 2006.  

An active member of many national committees, advisory boards, and commissions, Treisman is a renowned advocate for equity and excellence in education for all students.  


Search the complete program with our Online Conference Planner, which has everything you need to plan a rewarding conference experience. 


 back to top  


Schedule Overview 

Monday, April 7  
5:45 p.m.–6:45 p.m. Research Poster Sessions
7:00 p.m.–8:15 p.m. Research Conference Opening Session featuring Arthur Levine 
Tuesday, April 8  
8:30 a.m.–5:00 p.m. Research Conference Concurrent Presentations
5:00 p.m.–6:30 p.m. Research Poster Sessions
Wednesday, April  9  
8:00 a.m.–7:00 p.m. Annual Meeting & Exposition Registration (separate registration required)
8:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m. Research Conference Presentations
(Registered Annual Meeting & Exposition attendees may attend Research Conference offerings free of charge on Wednesday.)
10:00 a.m.–7:00 p.m. NCTM Bookstore is open 
10:15 a.m.–11:15 a.m. Research Conference Plenary Session featuring Philip Uri Treisman   

In support of NCTM's commitment to linking research and practice, Wednesday sessions will be open to anyone registered for the 2014 NCTM Annual Meeting & Exposition or NCSM 2014 Annual Conference.

Learn more about the Research Conference session types.

back to top  

Registration Rates

Register for the 2014 Research Conference and be sure to stay for the 2014 NCTM Annual Meeting & Exposition in New Orleans.

  Early-Bird Registration
by March 14  
Regular Registration
by April 6
On-Site Registration  
2014 Research Conference  
Research Conference Regular $161 $181 $201
Research Conference Student $80 $100 $120

2014 Annual Meeting & Exposition 

Discounted NCTM Member Registration Fees 
Member Full Registration $345 $385 $425
Member One-Day $285 $325 $365
Emeritus & Life Members $245 $265 $285
Student Member $172 $192 $212
Student Member One-Day $142 $162 $182
Nonmember Registration Fees  
Nonmember Full Registration (Includes NCTM Membership for One Year) $429 $469 $509
Nonmember One-Day $321 $361 $401
Student Nonmember $213 $233 $253
Student Nonmember One-Day $160 $180 $200
Nonteaching Guest $246 $266 $286
Group Discounted Fee
(5 or more attendees)
$362/registrant $402/registrant $442/registrant

back to top

Additional Information  

The Research Conference is sponsored by the NCTM Research Committee and the Special Interest Group on Research in Mathematics Education of the American Educational Research Association.

If you have questions regarding the Research Conference, please e-mail Michael Fish, NCTM Director of Research and Teacher Education.  

back to top 


Your feedback is important! Comments or concerns regarding the content of this page may be sent to Thank you.