Pin it!
Google Plus

Five Board Members Begin Terms at NCTM

Reston, Va., May 16, 2013—Diane J. Briars began her term as president-elect of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) at the conclusion of the Council’s 2013 Annual Meeting and Exposition in Denver on April 20. Briars will serve one year as president-elect (2013–2014), working closely with President Linda M. Gojak before assuming the full duties of president for a two-year term beginning in the spring of 2014.

Beginning three-year terms (2013–2016) on the NCTM Board of Directors are Florence Glanfield, Ruth Harbin Miles, Jane Porath, and Rose Mary Zbiek. The new directors fill out the 14-member board that serves as the chief policymaking body for the world’s largest professional organization dedicated to the teaching and learning of mathematics. With 80,000 members, NCTM supports mathematics educators in all 50 states and Canada. In addition, the Council provides information and services to members in 104 countries around the globe. The NCTM Board of Directors makes strategic decisions about Council actions, policies, and programs.

After serving as the mathematics director for Pittsburgh Public Schools since 1986, Diane J. Briars is now senior developer and research associate for the Intensified Algebra Project and a mathematics education consultant in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Briars has served the Council in many roles over the years. She has been a member of NCTM’s Board of Directors (1994–97), the Common Core State Standards feedback team (2009–10), the Professional Development and Status Advisory Committee (1994–97), the Evaluation Working Group for Curriculum and Evaluation Standards for School Mathematics, and the Standards Working Group for Assessment Standards for School Mathematics. Briars was also co-chair of the Purposes Working Group for Assessment Standards for School Mathematics and chair of the Assessment Task Force (2002–03).

Looking ahead to her time as president-elect, Briars said, “My passion is ensuring equity and excellence for all students, which I have pursued as a teacher, researcher, district leader, and leader of a national organization. From these roles, I bring multiple experiences and perspectives to the NCTM presidency, including leading systemic change in a complex urban district and communicating effectively with various stakeholders. I am committed to advancing NCTM’s vision and supporting the mathematics educators who work to provide high-quality mathematics learning for all students.”

Florence Glanfield is an associate professor of mathematics education at the University of Alberta. Her contributions to NCTM include serving as a member of the 2012 Yearbook Editorial Panel, the Nominations and Elections Committee (2002–05), the Mathematics Teacher Advisory Panel (2000–02), the Assessment Addenda Task Force (1995–2003), the Annual Meeting Program Committee (2005, 2002), and the Regional Services Committee (1993–96). She also served as chair of the Annual Meeting Program Committee (2008), the Regional Services Committee (1996–97), and the Canadian Regional Conference (1994).

Ruth Harbin Miles is an elementary school teacher and mathematics coach in Stafford, Virginia. Her contributions to NCTM include presenting at the Algebra Institute (2012), and serving as a member of the Professional Development Services Committee (2012–) and the Regional Program Committees for the Las Vegas (2013) and Cleveland (2008) Regional Conferences.

Jane Porath is a mathematics teacher and department chair at Traverse City East Middle School in Michigan. Her involvement in NCTM includes serving as a member of the Program Committee for the Louisville Regional Conference (2013), member (2008–10) and chair (2010–11) of the Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School (MTMS) Editorial Panel, and reviewer for MTMS (2009–).

Rose Mary Zbiek is a professor of mathematics education at Pennsylvania State University. Her work with NCTM includes serving as chair of the Making It Happen writing team (2010–11), technology group co-leader at the Research Agenda Conference (2008), associate editor of the Journal for Research in Mathematics Education (2007–12), member of the writing team for Curriculum Focal Points (2006), series editor for the Essential Understanding Series (2005–), member (1999–2003) and chair (2000–02) of the Mathematics Teacher Editorial Panel, and co-chair (1996–99) of the Des Moines Regional Conference (1999).

The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics is the public voice of mathematics education, providing vision, leadership, and professional development to support teachers in ensuring mathematics learning of the highest quality for all students. With 80,000 members and more than 200 Affiliates, NCTM is the world’s largest organization dedicated to improving mathematics education in prekindergarten through grade 12. The Council’s Principles and Standards for School Mathematics includes guidelines for excellence in mathematics education. Its Curriculum Focal Points for Prekindergarten through Grade 8 Mathematics: A Quest for Coherence, released in 2006, identifies the most important mathematical topics for each grade level. Focus in High School Mathematics: Reasoning and Sense Making advocates practical changes to the high school mathematics curriculum to refocus learning on reasoning and sense making. NCTM is dedicated to ongoing dialogue and constructive discussion with all stakeholders about what is best for our nation’s students.

Contact:  Tracy Withrow,, 703-620-9840, ext. 2189, Communications Manager, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.


Your feedback is important! Comments or concerns regarding the content of this page may be sent to Thank you.