Pin it!
Google Plus

NCTM Lifetime Achievement Awards for Distinguished Service to Mathematics Education

The NCTM Lifetime Achievement Awards are designed to honor current (on or before October 15, 2014) Full Individual, E-Members or Emeritus Members of NCTM who have exhibited a lifetime of achievement in mathematics education at the national level. Presentations of the Lifetime Achievement Awards are made yearly at the NCTM Annual Meeting and Exposition. Awards were presented for the first time in 1994 to Edgar Edwards, Shirley Hill, and Eugene Smith. Recipients of this award in subsequent years include Stanley J. Bezuszka, Gary G. Bitter, L. Carey Bolster, Gail F. Burrill, Iris M. Carl, Thomas P. Carpenter, Gerlena R. Clark, F. Joe Crosswhite, Donald J. Dessart, John A. Dossey, John C. Egsgard, Francis (Skip) Fennell, James T. Fey, Shirley M. Frye, James D. Gates, Douglas A. Grouws, Christian R. Hirsch, Peggy A. House, Judith E. Jacobs, Jeremy Kilpatrick, Eugene A. Klotz, Genevieve M. Knight, Stephen Krulik, Glenda T. Lappan, Miriam A. Leiva, Frank K. Lester, Jr., Mary M. Lindquist, Evan M. Maletsky, Carol E. Malloy, Lola J. May, Henry O. Pollak, Jack S. Price, Robert E. Reys, Thomas A. Romberg, James M. Rubillo, Edward A. Silver, Max A. Sobel, Judith T. Sowder, Marilyn N. Suydam, Harry B. Tunis, Zalman Usiskin, Stephen S. Willoughby, James W. Wilson, and Izaak Wirszup. See Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient Biographies.

Selection Criteria 

Nominees for the NCTM Lifetime Achievement Award should meet the following criteria:

Years of Distinguished Service. The award is for lifetime achievement rather than for a single contribution, no matter how monumental. Nominees should have a minimum of 25 years of distinguished service to mathematics education.

Categories of Distinction. The Lifetime Achievement Award is awarded for achievement in leadership, teaching, and service. Distinction in these categories can be demonstrated through: 

  • performance of the nominee on the job;
  • service beyond the requirements of the job at the state, and national/international level;
  • service to NCTM such as: offices held, committee memberships, special projects, meetings, publications.

Posthumous Awards. The Lifetime Achievement Award may be given posthumously.

Nomination Letter and Supporting Materials

Each nomination should be supported by a letter of nomination, the nominee's resume, and up to five letters of recommendation that speak to the nominee's distinction in the identified categories. The nominations must be typewritten, double-spaced and single-sided (please organize as outlined below), with margins of at least one inch on 8.5" x 11" paper. Font size must be no smaller than 10-point, and width between characters should be normal (100%). Five copies (one original and four copies) of the nomination packet should be included in a single packet addressed to the Mathematics Education Trust at NCTM, 1906 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1502. The nomination packet must be postmarked by November 7, 2014, to be considered. Nominations will be kept on file and reconsidered each year for five years. Nomination materials may be, but need not be, updated annually. Nominations may be withdrawn (by nominators) at any time.  

  Letter of Nomination. The letter of nomination should include the name, address, and daytime telephone number of the nominee; the name, address, daytime telephone number, and signature of the nominator; and the names of the authors of letters of recommendation.

  Resume. The nominee's resume should detail education; work experience; service at the district, state, national, and international level; publications; talks at conferences; and service to NCTM or other professional organizations.

  Letters of Recommendation. Up to five letters of recommendation may be included. Each of the categories (leadership, teaching, service) should be addressed in at least one of the letters. The nominator may write one of the five letters of recommendation. Letters of recommendation should focus on the quality rather than the quantity of the performance of the nominee, emphasizing the distinction of the nominee's performance.

Number of Awards

Normally, not more than two awards per year will be given.

The Mathematics Education Trust was established by
the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.

Having trouble running our Java apps? Get help here.

Your feedback is important! Comments or concerns regarding the content of this page may be sent to Thank you.