Pin it!
Google Plus

NCTM Lifetime Achievement Award Presentation 2014

Miriam A. Leiva and Christian R. Hirsch were presented the Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Service to Mathematics Education at the 2014 NCTM Annual Meeting and Exposition in New Orleans on April 11. Each recipient was awarded a medal (presented by President Linda Gojak) and a plaque (presented by Executive Director Robert Doucette). The presentation was given by Mari Muri, Chair of the MET Board of Trustees. View the webcast of the presentation.


Miriam Leiva and Christian Hirsch, MET Lifetime Achievement Award Winners 

2014 Lifetime Achievement Award recipients, Christian Hirsch and Miriam Leiva


Lifetime Awardees  (L to R) Linda Gojak, Chris Hirsch, Miriam Leiva, Robert Doucette
  Mari Muri
Mari Muri delivers an engaging presentation.
 Doucette, Gojak, Sowder, Lindquist 

All past Lifetime Achievement Award recipients in attendance were also honored. Here, Lifetime Achievement Awardees, Judith Sowder (2000) and Mary Lindquist (2000) were recognized.

View a complete listing of all NCTM Lifetime Achievement Awardees since the inception of the award.

  Miriam Leiva
Miriam Leiva is touched by the presentation.
Chris with Sabrina
Chris Hirsch shares a quiet moment with his eldest grandchild, Sabrina.
  Miriam Leiva and family
Miriam Leiva with her family.
  Miriam Leiva accepts
Miriam graciously accepts her award.
Miriam Leiva with family
Miriam's family (L to R): Katie Leiva, Bryan Bender, Miriam Leiva, Nandy Leiva, and Fernando Leyva
Attendees await the start of the Lifetime Achievement Award Presentation 
Presentation attendees. It's a full house!
Linda Gojak  Linda Gojak welcomes attendees.
 Chris with family  Chris Hirsch with his family.

Chris Hirsch 

 Chris graciously accepts his award.
Chris with grandson  Baby Max congratulates his grandfather, Chris.
   Chris Hirsch with family 
Chris' family (L to R): Sabrina (Anne's daughter), Anne Hirsch-Lajiness, Chris Hirsch, Jennifer Romano holding her son, Max.

   Miriam Leiva with colleagues 

(L to R) Nora Ramirez, Diane Kinch, Susie Håkansson, José Franco, Miriam Leiva, Don Balka, Angela Thompson and Ed Dickey.    


Having trouble running our Java apps? Get help here.

Your feedback is important! Comments or concerns regarding the content of this page may be sent to Thank you.