Pin it!
Google Plus

Roadmap to the Navigations Series: Curriculum Focal Points

When developing and implementing programs of instruction for prekindergarten through grade 8, curriculum planners and teachers need a wide variety of resources, such as the Navigations series published by NCTM.

The Navigations books expand upon and illustrate the vision of mathematics instruction outlined in NCTM's Principles and Standards for School Mathematics, which identifies six principles that form the foundation of a quality program of mathematics instruction. The principles include Equity, Curriculum, Teaching, Learning, Assessment, and Technology.

Principles and Standards was followed by NCTM's Curriculum Focal Points for Prekindergarten through Grade 8 Mathematics: A Quest for Coherence, designed to demonstrate how schools can apply the Curriculum principle in prekindergarten through grade 8.

Here, NCTM has selected specific resources from the Navigations books applicable to each grade level's curriculum focal points. These resources can be used to build a coherent, comprehensive curriculum that will prepare students for future mathematics, particularly algebra.

Prekindergarten  Grade 4 
Kindergarten  Grade 5 
Grade 1  Grade 6 
Grade 2  Grade 7 
Grade 3  Grade 8 



Your feedback is important! Comments or concerns regarding the content of this page may be sent to Thank you.