Membership and Affiliate Relations Committee (MARC)

  • The NCTM Membership and Affiliate Relations Committee provides strategic guidance on the development and implementation of NCTM programs and activities to recruit, retain, and increase value for the membership.  

    Committee Charge

    The Membership and Affiliate Relations Committee is charged to promote the mission and goals of NCTM by:

    1. Strengthening and enhancing our core image through experiences that support and energize teachers’ passion for their profession; leveraging NCTM’s resources, conferences, educational tools, website, content, and webinars.
    2. Strengthening the mathematics education community by supporting activities and relationships between/among Affiliates and NCTM members; enhancing member participation in both while preserving the individual identity of each.
    3. Cultivating a dynamic membership strategy to identify and leverage all opportunities to increase retention and value among current members.
    4. Developing and overseeing a comprehensive, integrated plan to recruit new and lapsed members.
    5. Promoting a plan to develop diverse future leaders from members of the NCTM and Affiliate community.
    6. Identifying and serving the growing needs of members at various stages of their careers.
    7. Overseeing the plan and facilitation of the Regional Caucuses and Delegate Assembly.

    (Approved by NCTM Board of Directors, July 5, 2017)

    Committee Members

    Ruth Harbin Miles - Chair
    Madison, Virginia - Southern Region                        

    Jeremy Zelkowski - Vice Chair
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama - Southern Region

    Regina (Gina) Kilday - Board Liaison
    West Greenwich, Rhode Island - Eastern Region                        

    Scot Acre - Member
    Royal Oak, Michigan - Central Region

    Catherine (Cathy) Boutin - Member
    Johnston, Rhode Island - Eastern Region

    Ruby Ellis - Member
    Opelika, Alabama - Southern Region

    Joanie Funderburk - Member
    Parker Colorado - Western Region

    Shelley Rea Hunter - Member
    Florenceville, New Brunswick - Canadian Region 

    Jean Lee - Member
    Indianapolis, Indiana - Central Region

    Daniel (Dan) Luevanos - Member
    San Diego, California - Western Region

    Kathleen (Taffy) McAneny - Member
    Elkton, Maryland - Eastern Region

    Maci Nelson - Member
    Seattle, Washington - Western Region

    Judy Rodgers - Member
    Purcellville, Virginia - Southern Region

    Megan Schmidt - Member
    Andover, Minnesota - Central Region

    Jill Sumerlin - Member
    Tillamook, Oregon - Western Region           
    2014-2017 and 2018

    Becky Walker - Member
    Green Bay, Wisconsin - Central Region

    Eileen Murphy - Staff Liaison
    National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
    Reston, Virginia     

    Mary Ferris
    - Staff Liaison
    National Council of Teachers of Mathematics 
    Reston, Virginia