About Mathematics Education Trust

  • The Mathematics Education Trust (MET) was established in 1976 to channel the generosity of contributors through the creation and funding of grants, awards, honors, and other projects that support the improvement of mathematics teaching and learning.

    Give to MET

    MET Grants and Awards

    MET grants, scholarships, awards—

    • Provide funds to support classroom teachers (Pre-K–grade 12) in improving classroom practices and increasing teachers' mathematical knowledge.
    • Offer funding opportunities for prospective teachers and NCTM's Affiliates. 
    • Recognize the lifetime achievement of leaders in mathematics education.

    The NCTM Lifetime Achievement Awards are presented annually to recognize a lifetime of achievement in mathematics education.

    Other awards are presented to individuals or schools after a selective review of proposals submitted by applicants.
    Awards range from $1,500 to $24,000 and cover costs such as

    • Conferences, workshops, or seminars
    • Research and in-service training in mathematics
    • Classroom activities
    • Lessons and materials
    • Graduate courses or other mathematics coursework
    • Other teacher- or school-identified professional development activities

    View also:

    Tips for Writing Successful Proposals for MET Grants and Scholarships »

    MET Grants and Scholarships that allow Equipment and Technology

    MET Awards, Grants, and Scholarships Summary

    MET Board of Trustees  

    MET is administered by the MET Board of Trustees, which is appointed by the NCTM president and approved by the NCTM Board of Directors. The MET Board is composed of four members who serve four-year terms and chair the Board in their last year. The Board of Trustees establishes policies and procedures for the Mathematics Education Trust; establishes and monitors policy for the investments of MET funds; initiates and monitors MET award programs; selects or oversees the selection of awardees in MET programs; and, oversees the fundraising aspects of the Trust.

    Tribbey-Fern Fern Tribbey, Chair (2016–2017)
    Tribbey taught middle and high school for thirty-one years and was a K–12 math curriculum coordinator in a large unit district (suburb of Chicago) for two years. During part of the time, she also taught a methods of teaching mathematics both secondary and elementary at both National Louis University and Northwestern University through their master's program. She has been a member of NCTM for infinite number of years and still counting. She was a reviewer of the NCTM Teaching Middle School for a few years. She is a past-president of Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics and of the Metropolitan Mathematics Club of Chicago. Fern also was an appointee on the National Council of Supervisors of Mathematics Board as the nominations and elections chair and shared the position with her husband, Steve, as the sponsor partner liaisons for a couple of years. Fern is now "retired" and is working as a math curriculum and instruction consultant in Illinois.

    Ralph Connelly Ralph Connelly, Trustee
    Connelly is Professor Emeritus in the Faculty of Education at Brock University in St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada, where he taught Elementary Math Methods since 1977. He is an author of several textbook series, most recently Math Makes Sense from Pearson Canada. He is a Life Member of NCTM, joining in 1971. He has served on several Committees of NCTM, including the Conferences and Conventions Committee (Chair), Nominations and Elections Committee, and the Editorial Panel for Teaching Children Mathematics. He served 2 different terms as Canadian Director for NCSM, and has twice been the President of the Ontario Association for Mathematics Education (NCTM affiliate group). He has presented at over 100 NCTM Regional and Annual Conferences. He served on Ontario Ministry of Education Expert Panels for both Early Years Mathematics, and Junior (4-6) Mathematics.
    Fulmore-Linda Linda M. Fulmore, Trustee
    Fulmore was a high school mathematics teacher, administrator and central office curriculum specialist for a large district in Phoenix, Arizona. Currently, she consults with mathematics educators and administrators throughout the country. She has been a member of NCTM over 20 years, was chairperson of the Achievement Gap Task Force, member of the writing team for the Empowering Mentors of Mathematics publication series, and served on regional and annual meeting program committees. Additionally, she has served NCSM in numerous capacities including Secretary, 1st and 2nd Vice-President, Core Staff of Summer Leadership Academies and on the writing teams for PRIME and It's TIME publications. She currently is NCSM's Position Papers Editor. Fulmore is a member and treasurer of TODOS-Mathematics for All and also holds membership in the Benjamin Banneker Association, Women in Mathematics, and the Arizona Association of Teachers of Mathematics. She is founder and Director of Math Nation LLC, a program offering Summer Math Camps for middle school youth in the Phoenix Metropolitan area.

    Richard Seitz

    Richard Seitz, Trustee
    Seitz was a high school teacher in Helena Montana for 42 years. He retired in 2015. He was a member of the writing team for both the "NCSM Great Tasks for Mathematics 7-12" and the "NCSM Great Tasks for Mathematics K-5" as well as a writer for the middle school textbook series "MathThematics". He has been a member of NCTM for over 40 years and has recently served on the board of directors for both NCTM and NCSM along with other committee work. He is a 1990 Presidential Awardee for Excellence in Mathematics Teaching and is a National Board Certified Teacher in Adolescence and Adult Mathematics from 2000 to 2020. He has taught extended workshops across the country, taught summer gifted and talented institutes for two summers in Hong Kong and taught mathematics educators one summer in Shanghai. Currently his focus is on writing high interest mathematics problems for mathematics teachers 7-12.


    David M. Shayka is NCTM's Associate Executive Director for Business Services & Chief Operating Officer and Staff Liaison to the MET.

    MET Annual Reports  

    The Mathematics Education Trust produces a report annually that highlights award and grant recipients and acknowledges those who have contributed to MET. 

    2016 MET Annual Report (PDF)
    2015 MET Annual Report (PDF)
    2014 MET Annual Report (PDF)
    2013 MET Annual Report (PDF)
    2012 MET Annual Report (PDF)
    2011 MET Annual Report (PDF)
    2010 MET Annual Report (PDF)
    2009 MET Annual Report (PDF)
    2008 MET Annual Report (PDF)
    2007 MET Annual Report (PDF)
    2006 MET Annual Report (PDF)
    2005 MET Annual Report (PDF)
    2004 MET Annual Report (PDF)

  • NCTM Grants Contact

    Mathematics Education Trust

    Nihad Ziad 
    Executive Staff Assistant 
    (703) 620-9840, ext. 2112